The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical and experimental physical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2021 recipients will be honored at the the Fall ACS National Meeting in Atlanta.

Prof. Nancy Makri
Prof. Nancy MakriEdward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Chair and Professor of Chemistry
For the development of exact methods for long-time numerical path integral simulations of quantum dissipative systems with application to quantum liquids, electron transfer and photosynthesis.
Prof. Greg V. Hartland
Prof. Greg V. HartlandProfessor; Director of Graduate Studies
For his contribution to understanding the fundamental properties of metal nanostructures, and for the development of novel experimental techniques to study single particles.
Thomas Markland
Thomas MarklandAssociate Professor, Chemistry
For the development and application of methods to efficiently treat ground and excited state quantum dynamics in condensed phase systems.
Prof. Miriam Freedman
Prof. Miriam FreedmanAssociate Professor of Chemistry
For characterizing the changes to phase transitions with droplet size in atmospheric particles and the role of surface properties in heterogeneous ice nucleation

The window for nominations for the 2022 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in August 2021 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding eligibility and nominations will be available in the coming months.