join       |       officers       |       archives       |       news       |       ACS

astrochemistry   |   biophysical   |   energy   |   theory   |   experiment

2019 PHYS Division Young Investigator Awards

The Physical Chemistry Division of the ACS is pleased to announce the winners of its 2019 Young Investigator Awards. The six winners, all of whom are currently postdoctoral associates, have been invited to speak about their research at the Fall 2019 national ACS meeting in San Diego, CA in August.

Dr. Jenee D. Cyran
Ph.D: Colorado State
Thesis: "Exploring Nanoaggregate Structures of Model Asphaltenes Using Two Dimensional Infrared Spectroscopy"
Ph.D Adviser: Prof. Amber T. Krummel
Current Position: Alexander von Humboldt Postdoctoral Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research
Current Work: "Elucidating how trace gases interact with ice surfaces utilizing sum frequency generation spectroscopy"

Dr. Christopher Grieco
Ph.D: Penn State
Thesis: "Relating nanoscale structure to electronic function in organic semiconductors using time-resolved spectroscopy"
Ph.D Adviser: Prof. John B. Asbury
Current Position: Postdoc, Kohler group at Ohio State

Current Work: "Structural origins of rapid solar energy deactivation and radical photochemistry in melanin"

Dr. Nicolas Jackson
Ph. D: Northwestern
Thesis: "Optoelectronic Networks in Soft Matter"

Ph.D Advisers: Profs. Mark Ratner and Lin Chen
Current Position: Maria Goeppert Mayer Postdoctoral Fellow, Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
Current Work: "Electronic Coarse-Graining in Soft Materials via Supervised Machine Learning"

Dr. Zhou (Alice) Lin
Ph.D: Ohio State
Thesis: "Theoretical Studies on the Spectroscopy and Dynamics of Astrochemically Significant Species"
Ph.D Advisers: Profs. Anne McCoy & Eric Herbst
Current Position: Postdoc, Martin Head-Gordon and Alex Bell groups at Berkeley
Current Work: "Quantum Mechanical Modeling of Electrochemical Reduction of Carbon Dioxide into Multi-Carbon Molecules"

Dr. Haipeng Lu
Ph. D: University of Southern California
Thesis: "Expanding the Library of Surface Ligands for Semiconductor Nanocrystal Synthesis and Photovoltaics"
Ph.D Advisers: Prof. Richard L. Brutchey
Current Position: Postdoc., Matthew C. Beard group at NREL
Current Work: "Emerging Opportunities of Low-Dimensional Perovskite Materials Beyond Photovoltaics: Spin, Light, Charge"

Dr. Elvira Sayfutyarova
Ph.D: Princeton
Thesis: "Electronic Structure Tools for Transition Metal Complexes with Many Open Shells"
Ph.D Adviser: Prof. Garnet Chan
Current Position: Postdoc, Hammes-Schiffer group at Yale
Current Work: "Studying Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer in Organic Chemistry and Biology with Automated Multireference Methods"