join       |       officers       |       archives       |       news       |       ACS

astrochemistry   |   biophysical   |   energy   |   theory   |   experiment

2021 Physical Chemistry Division Awards

The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical and experimental physical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2021 recipients will be honored at the the Fall ACS National Meeting in Atlanta.

2021 Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Nancy Makri
"For the development of exact methods for long-time numerical path integral simulations of quantum dissipative systems with application to quantum liquids, electron transfer and photosynthesis."

2021 Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry
Prof. Greg V. Hartland
Univ. of Notre Dame
"For his contribution to understanding the fundamental properties of metal nanostructures, and for the development of novel experimental techniques to study single particles."

2021 Early-Career Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Thomas Markland
"For the development and application of methods to efficiently treat ground and excited state quantum dynamics in condensed phase systems. "

2021 Early-Career Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry
Prof. Miriam Freedman
Penn State
"For characterizing the changes to phase transitions with droplet size in atmospheric particles and the role of surface properties in heterogeneous ice nucleation."

The window for nominations for the 2022 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in August 2021 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding eligibility and nominations will be available in the coming months.