join       |       officers       |       archives       |       news       |       ACS

astrochemistry   |   biophysical   |   energy   |   theory   |   experiment

2013 Physical Chemistry Division Awards

The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical and experimental physical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2013 recipients will be honored in a special awards symposium on Tuesday afternoon of the Fall ACS National Meeting in Indianapolis.

2013 Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Gregory A. Voth
The University of Chicago
Argonne National Laboratory
"for the development and application of powerful new theoretical and computational methods in the study of biomolecules, liquids, materials, and quantum mechanical systems"

2013 Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry
Prof. Dana D. Dlott
The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
"for experimental techniques and measurements that advance our understanding of vibrational energy in molecules and materials"

2013 Early-Career Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Alán Aspuru-Guzik
Harvard University
"for his pioneering contributions to the intersection of quantum information and chemistry. In particular, quantum computing for chemistry and ultrafast quantum process tomography"

2013 Early-Career Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry
Prof. Liberato Manna
Italian Institute of Technology
"for the use of physical chemistry tools and approaches to create and control the properties of inorganic nanocrystals"

The window for nominations for the 2014 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in September 2013 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding eligibility and nominations will be available in the coming months.