join       |       officers       |       archives       |       news       |       ACS

astrochemistry   |   biophysical   |   energy   |   theory   |   experiment

2014 PHYS Division Postdoctoral Research Awards

The Physical Chemistry Division of the ACS is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 postdoctoral awards. The four winners have been invited to speak about their research at the Fall 2014 national ACS meeting in San Francisco in August.

Dr. Sandeep Sharma
Princeton University
"Realizing the spectroscopy of iron-sulfur clusters directly from entangled many-particle quantum mechanics"
Adviser: Prof. Garnet Chan

Dr. Pengfei Huo
California Institute of Technology
"Intra-molecular proton transfer and hydrogen generation in cobalt catalysts"
Adviser: Prof. Thomas F. Miller

Dr. Tom Oliver
The University of California, Berkeley
"Two-dimensional Electronic-Vibrational Spectroscopy: A New Probe for Ultrafast Dynamics of Biomolecules and Molecular Aggregates"
Adviser: Prof. Graham Fleming

Dr. Nicholas J. Mayhall
University of California, Berkeley
"Toward accurate single-reference descriptions of strongly correlated systems: Improving active-space spin-flip configuration interaction with perturbation theory"
Adviser: Prof. Martin Head-Gordon