join       |       officers       |       archives       |       news       |       ACS

astrochemistry   |   biophysical   |   energy   |   theory   |   experiment

2019 Physical Chemistry Division Awards

The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical and experimental physical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2019 recipients will be honored at the the Fall ACS National Meeting in San Diego.

2019 Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Laura Gagliardi
Univ. of Minnesota
"For her contributions to the development of quantum chemical methods and their application to multireference systems containing metals, relevant to catalysis, and excited states."

2019 Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry
Prof. Gilad Haran
Weizmann Institute of Science
"For his pioneering development of single-molecule methods that shed new light on protein folding and dynamics and on plasmonic interactions with molecules."

2019 Early-Career Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Frank Noe
Freie Universitaet Berlin
"For pioneering development of innovative methods for computational biophysics, especially Markov state modeling and its applications to challenging protein simulation and the sampling problem."

2019 Early-Career Award in Experimental Physical Chemistry
Prof. Haitao Liu
University of Pittsburgh
"For his research on the intrinsic surface properties of carbon materials and DNA-mediated surface reactions."

The window for nominations for the 2020 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in August 2019 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding eligibility and nominations will be available in the coming months.