join       |       officers       |       archives       |       news       |       ACS

astrochemistry   |   biophysical   |   energy   |   theory   |   experiment

2012 Physical Chemistry Division Awards

The Physical Chemistry Division sponsors annual awards in theoretical and experimental chemistry, both of which are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. We are pleased to announce that the 2012 awardees:

Prof. Anna Krylov of the University of Southern California is the winner of the 2012 Physical Chemistry Division Award in Theoretical Chemistry. Prof. Krylov's research focuses on the development of electronic structure methods for electronically excited and open-shell species in both the gas and condensed phases.

The winner of the 2012 Physical Chemistry Division Award in Experimental Chemistry is Prof. Bob Continetti of the University of California at San Diego. His research group is interested in measuring and understanding the dynamics and energetics of transient species in the gas phase using photoelectron, photofragmentation and translational spectroscopies.

The window for nominations for the 2013 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in August 2012 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding elibigility and nominations will be available in the coming months.